2008 WSOP Update: The Year of The Pro(TM) Not Dead Yet

2008 WSOP updatesWell, it looks like it all comes down the the Main Event this year to determine if the 2008 WSOP will forever be known as The Year of the ProTM or as something else. Fortunately, as reader "Mike" pointed out here, the man who won the $10,000 PLO tournament, Marty Smith, is in fact an Irish pro, which definitely helps.

:: Event #52 ($1,500 No Limit Hold’em) – Pro poker player David Daneshgar took this one down, winning his first WSOP bracelet and banking $625,443. Daneshgar defeated Scott Sitron (not a pro), for the title. Ginger pro Dan Heimiller finished third. Get full results here.

:: Event #53 ($1,500 Limit Hold’em Shoot-out) – Survivor’s Jean-Robert Bellande could’ve put away The Year of the ProTM race with a win, but he came up just short of his first bracelet. JRB lost heads-up to Matt Graham, who is arguably pro material with four cashes in this year’s World Series of Poker. Graham banks $278,180 for the win. Get full payouts here.

Main Event starts tomorrow at noon PST. Check back with WickedChopsPoker.com for regular updates.

2008 WSOP Band of Bloggers: Get full recaps and payouts from WorldSeriesofPoker.com here. Get Dr. Pauly’s take on WSOP happenings here. Please please don’t forget Pokerati here. And get Poker Prof’s recap and more photos here.


Leave a Reply

(*) Required, Your email will not be published