2010 NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship Field Announced

Kara Scott is among the surprise names in the 2010 NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship field list.

The full field for the NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship was released today.

With so many automatic qualifiers there isn’t room for too many surprises. However, some names that did stand out on the list included:

  • Kara Scott: We’re big fans of Kara, but apparently her hostess gig with the WPT carries more weight within the industry than we thought?
  • Jamie Gold, Joe Hachem, Greg Raymer: Looks like former WSOP ME champs will continue getting invites for another year.
  • Dennis Phillips: Same goes to non-former WSOP ME champs who people think are former WSOP ME champs.
  • Annette Obrestad: This is the first big-time televised event she’ll be playing in the States. Expect big things.
  • Phil Gordon: He didn’t play last year and doesn’t play much anymore in general.
  • Phil Laak: Yeah, he’s running good for the past week, but that doesn’t excuse the past five years.
  • Johnny Chan: People still care about him?

The field feels a little light on the celebrity/athlete angle too. Just the usual suspects of Don Cheadle, Jennifer Tilly, Orel Hershiser, and Gabe Kaplan. No Michael Phelps. Not even…dare we say…Trishelle.

Also, Layne Flack did not get an invite back this year. Wonder why.

Go below the fold for the full field listing.

Patrick  Antonius

Eric Baldwin

Andy Bloch

Doyle Brunson

Joe Cada

Johnny Chan

Don Cheadle

Allen Cunningham

Pieter De-Korver

Annie Duke

Tom Dwan

Peter Eastgate

Eli Elezra

Antonio Esfandiari

Sam Farha

Chris Ferguson

Ted Forrest

Jamie Gold

Phil Gordon

Barry Greenstein

Bertrand Grospellier

Joe Hachem

Gus Hansen

Jennifer Harman

Phil Hellmuth

Orel Hershiser

Jesper  Hougaard

Phil Ivey

John Juanda

Gabe Kaplan

John Paul Kelly

Phil Laak

Howard Lederer

Erick Lindgren

Mike Matusow

Jason Mercier

Dario Minieri

Chris Moneymaker

Darvin Moon

Greg Mueller

Daniel Negreanu

Scotty Nguyen

Annette Obrestad

Brock Parker

Dennis  Phillips

Greg Raymer

Vanessa Rousso

Kara Scott

Huck Seed

Erik Seidel

Mike Sexton

Gavin Smith

Jennifer Tilly

Paul Wasicka

David Williams

Leo Wolpert

Jerry Yang

Then 7 online qualifiers


8 Responses

  1. Kevin Mathers

    February 23, 2010 11:55 am, Reply

    This would be Jerry Yang’s last year to be eligible as an automatic qualifer (last 3 WSOP ME winners). However, every ME winner since Moneymaker is in this year’s field.

  2. Wicked Chops Entity

    February 23, 2010 3:19 pm, Reply

    Hey anonymous, apparently you didn’t see her hosting at the WPT Celeb Invite this weekend…cause she walked the red carpet with Sexton and Van Patton and then interviewed players all night.

Leave a Reply

(*) Required, Your email will not be published