Faraz Jaka Leads Day 2 of WPT Championship

David Williams and his new look (not pictured) is among the WPT Championship Day 2 chip leaders.

The 2010 WPT Championship ended up with a total field of 195, down pretty significantly from the 338 who entered last year. This is also the fewest entrants since Season 1, which brought in 111.

First place will pay out $1,530,537, down from its peak in 2007 when Carlos Mortensen won $3,970,415.

All of that aside, current WPT POY leader Faraz Jaka is looking to shore up that title. He ended Day 2 as chip leader, stacked at 597,100. He’s trailed by Shawn Buchanan (596,600) and Justin Bonomo (503,600).

Other notable big stacks include Brandon Cantu (489,000), David Williams (363,300), Yevgeniy Timoshenko (279,400), and the aforementioned Carlos Mortensen (261,100).

Only 98 remain. Follow the action starting at 3pm ET here.

In semi-related news, at post-time 17 remain at the EPT San Remo. Allan Bække leads with 3,483,000. Liv Boeree remains with 1,337,000. Follow here.


2 Responses

Leave a Reply

(*) Required, Your email will not be published