Greg Merson Wins 2012 WSOP Main Event, Player of the Year Title

Greg Merson–first “pro” Main Event winner since Carlos Mortensen?

So does this count as the first “pro” to win the Main Event in poker’s modern era?

Poker pro Greg Merson has won the 2012 WSOP Main Event, defeating Jesse Sylvia heads-up for the title.

For the win, Merson banks $8,531,853. Sylvia earns $5,295,149 for second.

The win also secures 2012 WSOP Player of the Year honors for Merson. Phil Hellmuth had the lead, and Merson could only take it over by winning the Main Event.

Which he did.

Additionally, Merson’s win keeps the streak of 497 consecutive years going that someone has won two bracelets during the WSOP. Merson won over a milli in the No Limit Hold’em Six Max event just prior to the Main Event.

Jake Balsiger came in third for $3,799,073.

Get a full recap of the event here.


Leave a Reply

(*) Required, Your email will not be published