Marvin Rettenmaier Wins 2012 WPT Championship

In her last event with the WPT, Jess Welman interviews the champ, Marvin Rettenmaier.

Marvin Rettenmaier entered the 2012 WPT Championship final table as the massive chip leader.

Then he lost it.

Then he went on to win anyway.

At one point in heads-up play, Rettenmaier was at a 4-to-1 chip disadvantage. But he battled back, defeating Philippe Ktorza to win the title.

For the win, Rettenmaier banks $1,196,858. This marks the second lowest ever WPT Championship first place prize (Season 1, won by Alan Goehring, was for just over $1M). Ktorza earns $805,310 for second.

Along with Goehring, Rettenmaier joins the following WPT Championship winners: Martin De Knijff, Tuan Le, Joe Bartholdi, Carlos Mortensen, David Chiu, Yevgeniy Timoshenko, David Williams, and Scott Seiver.

Michael “The Grinder” Mizrachi finished third ($424,618), Nick Schulman fourth ($256,235), Steve O’Dwyer fifth ($192,176), and
Trevor Pope sixth ($155,571).

Get a full recap here.


One Response

Leave a Reply

(*) Required, Your email will not be published